Tuition comparison??

Discussion of AAA Hockey

Moderator: Mitch Hawker

Snipuh21

Tuition comparison??

Post by Snipuh21 » Tue Mar 25, 2014 11:21 am

As a New member of the forum and a Massachusetts hockey parent I have limited knowledge of the whole Minnesota youth hockey/AAA landscape. I understand that there may be a new AAA league, which is more similar to the rest of the country's (including Massachusetts') structure. All that being said, I'm wondering how the cost of hockey varies in Minnesota from other areas? In Massachusetts it seems that the higher you go up the level alphabet (A, AA, AAA, Elite) the more tuition rises. Some of the increase can be explained by more practices and games, but some just seems to be a money grab by clubs selling the dream.

Would anyone be willing to share the amount they spent on tuition last year (or what the tuition for next year is expected to be) and what that got them insofar as number of practices per week and games played? I'll start: for an Elite level ( AAA everywhere else but Massachusetts had so much grade inflation that they had to create a new level) Bantam Minor my tuition for last season was $4,300. My son's team played 55 games and had 3 full ice practices per week from September through February that they shared with the Bantam Major team. Travel costs and tournament fees were extra. This seems like a crazy amount to me and is primarily why I've moved him to another team for next season. How does this compare to Minnesota?

massalsa

Post by massalsa » Wed Mar 26, 2014 4:13 pm

Winter season costs for 4-5 hockey events per week from mid Sept thru late Feb early march cost us about $1700 or so. Peewee A. 30ish games. Tourney costs for lodging were a couple of hundred each for 2 away tournaments.