Does a great skater not have potential

Older Topics, Not the current discussion

Moderators: Mitch Hawker, east hockey, karl(east)

Can_you_skate

Does a great skater not have potential

Post by Can_you_skate »

When my children started playing hockey I was a novice about what needed to be done to help them develop and eventually play high school hockey. So I read alot I talked to a lot of people (so called hockey guys) and the common thread was teach them to skate. Get them out on the pond skating. So I did, the result my kids can skate. Arguably the best pure skaters in their age group.

When I talk to evaluators about what they are looking for in a player the common thread seems to be potential. This seems to translate into size. The result is I see a lot of big guys who are terrible skaters. slow in transition from back to forward or can't get up to speed going backward or unable to move laterally going backward. Getting picked to play on special teams. Now answer this is there not as much potential in a well developed skill as there is in size? Am I wrong but if a kid is a great skater at 12 is he not going to be a great skater at 16 and continue to be a great skater at 22 and so on.

So does it not seems that the hockey guys are talking out of both sides of their mouths saying learn to skate and we will take you if your big.
elliott70

Post by elliott70 »

Take you where? :?
elliott70

Post by elliott70 »

Take you where? :?

This si one way to get alot of posts, right Lee. :lol:
suntzu

Re: Does a great skater not have potential

Post by suntzu »

Can_you_skate wrote:When my children started playing hockey I was a novice about what needed to be done to help them develop and eventually play high school hockey. So I read alot I talked to a lot of people (so called hockey guys) and the common thread was teach them to skate. Get them out on the pond skating. So I did, the result my kids can skate. Arguably the best pure skaters in their age group.