Options to help weak mite player catch up

Discussion of Minnesota Youth Hockey

Moderators: Mitch Hawker, east hockey, karl(east)

MNblockhead

Options to help weak mite player catch up

Post by MNblockhead »

Does anyone have any recommendations on programs to help weak (not absolute beginner) mite skaters strengthen then skating skills so they can better participate in mite hockey teams?

My son is has two seasons mite level but has fallen far behind other players that he started with. He had never so much as seen snow, much less put feet on ice until we moved back to MN for him to start kindergarten.

He seemed to pick things up quickly his first season, though he was already among the weaker skaters on his team, especially for his age and height.

This past winter, I thought I would help him by putting him a new learn-to-skate program that the local hockey association organized. That only seemed to make matters worse. Not only was I very underwhelmed with the quality of the instruction (the hockey parents for the mites team did a better job than this new specialized program IMHO). It was also too rudimentary for him and he didn't get much out of it. I asked the coach of the mites team if he could join for the second half and he said that was no problem so I put him back in the mites team after he finished the learn-to-skate course.

It was immediately obvious how far he had fallen behind. He couldn't keep up with the other kids in the drills and was weak in scrimmages. Soon he started getting picked on. Boys rough-house, and its hockey, so I mainly encouraged him to stand up for himself. Well, that led to an urgent care visit and an incensed wife. I spoke spoke with one the dad of one of the kids and the coach and they were cool about it and some of the sticking and tripping and other roughhousing was controlled, but by this time my son loathed going to practice.