Best weekend of the year

Older Topics, Not the current discussion

Moderators: Mitch Hawker, east hockey, karl(east)

east hockey
Site Admin

Best weekend of the year

Post by east hockey »

I say this even with East being out of it...this is the most amazing weekend of the year. The tradition, the anticipation. 14 games in four days; it's almost enough for a hockey junkie. This weekend represents an almost ritualistic passage from winter to spring for me, also. It culminates in going from thinking almost exclusively about hockey to thinking about the vacation my wife and I take every spring. Plus, all those memories about past tournaments, past teams, past players are relived this weekend.

Fantastic stuff.

What makes it so great for others?

Lee
Message Board arsonist since 2005
Egomaniac since 2006
WildTwin

Best Weekend

Post by WildTwin »

I'm a 1976 grad of Grand Rapids High School, now live in Florida. And every year I still watch and keep up with state tournament. High School hockey is my fondest memories of high school. The weekend I spent in St. Paul to watch the Indians repeat as state champions was the best time ever. Even had my first beer then-and my first hangover the next morning. :D When people ask me what I miss most of all about Minnesota my reply is: "Northern Lights, Fall Foliage and HIGH SCHOOL HOCKEY". We have a semi-pro hockey team down here, but it just does not compare to the excitement of Minnesota High School Hockey.
CRS

Post by CRS »

Other than the blowouts in the A bracket. This really has been an exciting tournament so far. The fact that no seeded team has advanced adds to the excitement. Question: Since they started seeding teams (Date?) Has there ever been a tournament where none of the seeded teams advanced to the semis?
Sats81

Post by Sats81 »